Group Discussions

Emotional about Baby #2

Subscribe
  • I recently found out that I am pregnant with our second child. I am due in April. I am a teacher and I will take off the rest of the school year plus have the summer off. The baby will roughly be 4 months when I have to go back to work. I remember how difficult it was for me to go back to work after my first (who will be 2 shortly after this baby is born). I'm also feeling overwhelmed in general...will I be able to handle 2 children? Will it be as exhausting as the first time around? How will my toddler cope with the addition?

Any advice or tips on how to manage are welcome!
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Melissa on 29th September 2007
  • Hi Melissa,

I'm afraid I don't have an answer for you simply because i haven't experienced what you are going through... however, I'm expecting my first child and I have similar fears and concerns... I'm not planning on taking a maternity leave (unless you count couple of weeks off) and I don't know how my life will change after having my first child.... I'm excited and scared at the same time... I would love to hear how others managed to go through these type of changes/transitions/adjustments......
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Victoria on 30th September 2007
  • Melissa, congratulations on your pregnancy! I'm only planning on about 8 weeks maternity leave (I took 12 with baby #1), and already it's killing me to think of going back to work. I think it's something we think about/deal with/worry about every day of our lives, readjusting a little bit each day.

I'm crossing all my fingers that I'll be able to cut back to part-time so that's helping me a bit, but I know that isn't a option for everyone.

I'm wondering, too, about how to cope with 2 kids (yikes)!! I've heard that yes, it IS just as exhausting, but somehow we just manage, like we did with the first baby. Still doesn't seem possible, though, looking at it from this angle!