Group Discussions

Flu Shot?

Subscribe
  • We just met our future pediatrician and one of the first things she told my husband and I is to get a flu shot! I've never done it before, I am a strong believer that your body should be able to fight viruses on its own. But since i'm pregnant and we are going to have a newborn - I decided to give it a shot. What about others? Are you getting a flu shot?
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Victoria on 13th October 2007
  • I'm actually phobic about syringes, so these decisions are really hard for me. In the past I've skipped the flu shot; but since I'm pregnant this year, I figure it's my responsibility to do everything I can to protect the baby. Of course, that's making the assumption that the shot itself is safe for the baby! I have an appt. next week, and I'll be asking my doctor about it then.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Lorna Doone Brewer on 13th October 2007
  • I have never gotten a flu shot, while pregnant or otherwise. neither have my kids, and they've never gotten the flu.

i agree with victoria, and focus more on nutrition to keep our immune systems strong.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by on 18th October 2007
  • I've gotten sick the last three times I had a flu shot, so I am not going to do it again. My doctor argues with me that it can't make me sick, but I don't think it's a coincidence. My six-year-old son got a flu shot today, though. He seems to be feeling fine so far.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by alanaransley on 18th October 2007
  • My OB said "The CDC and the ACOG recommend it..." when I asked him, so I guess I will. Now I just have to figure out where to go. (And get over my cold first.)
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by el-e-e on 18th October 2007
  • I never got the flu shot and agree to focus on staying healthy, boosting the immune system, etc.