Group Discussions

Does your Career dictate your Bag?

Subscribe
  • Because I'm a computer programmer and my main computer is a laptop, I carry around a laptop bag. Yes, I have my purse ( which is usually a tote with much more than what a purse should have in it) and I have my gym bag, but for the most part, for me to function I need my laptop bag.

My job supplied me with the "standard issued" black briefcase laptop bag that is so boring and probably would get lost with any other laptop bag out there. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE <a href="http://about.pricegrabber.com/search_getprod .php/masterid=6335648/search=madison%20tote&mode=a bout_mobileoffice&">this bag</a> but frankly, I work for the local goverment and they do not pay me enought to go out and buy this bag. Although, it would be a nice investment.

So, this leads me to wonder, am I the only one that allows her career to dictate the bag that I am carrying 99% of the time? Or do you break the mold and go out and grab a bag that suits your style?
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by The Tattooed Mommie on 22nd January 2008
  • Nope-my outfit dictates which purse I will carry.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Uhura on 22nd January 2008
  • So, I have a bit of a problem with purses. I like different ones for different days, but I always end up leaving something that I need in the purse I am switching from! I do go through phases where I will use one purse for months (probably the bicycle carrier purses, because they have enough space for me to cart materials to different schools. But for someone who loves organization, I am disaster when it comes to keeping my purse organized, let alone properly loaded!
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by on 23rd January 2008