Group Discussions

How do you keep track of household expenses?

Subscribe
  • There is a great discussion going on at Busy Chef about how much we all spend on food per month and it got me wondering -- how do you keep track of what you spend? Quicken, spreadsheet, mental notes?
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Nataly on 30th May 2008
  • I use Moneydance, similar to quicken but cheaper, less bloated, and easier to use. But I'm not good at keeping up with things. I balance our checkbook, and pay the bills on time but even downloading the data from the credit cards seems to be too much work. Never mind entering the receipts in one by one. So while we live withing our means, we we don't have the data to learn to live on less. I'm not sure what the answer is but I'm eager to learn what other people are doing. Or, if anyone has any ideas to share.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Jenns on 30th May 2008
  • I just have a little spreadsheet where I balance my checkbook, and I breakdown my expenses there also. I have to track all of my spending weekly for my expense account, so I put all my receipts in the same folder, and do it all at the same time. It's been interesting to see where my money is going.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Niki D on 30th May 2008
  • I have MS Money but really all i do for the 'quick look' is an excel spreadsheet. Finances for me are one of those household things that i procrastinate about - unfortunatly! I need to get them in order... it's driving me nuts!!!
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Kate on 2nd June 2008