Group Discussions

Advice for changing daycare?

Subscribe
  • I am new to WorkItMom, but have already found so many kindred spirits in the past 20 minutes! I'd really like to get others' advice and input.

My kids like their family daycare and have been there since they were 4 months old. However, recently, a number of the older children have left, because of moves out of the area, going to pre-school, or going to kindergarten. I hadn't planned on placing my son in pre-school for another year. But, now there are very few kids his age or older. And, his best buddy moved out of the country and he really misses him.

My younger son will have plenty of friends there. Once families start there, they usually stay.

I'm afraid that my older son will be bored soon. They are working with him and really make an effort to spend time on his interests. I am thinking of starting him in a larger pre-school environment in the winter.

Oh, and my two are the only boys...the rest of the children are girls.

Would like to hear if others think it make sense to switch earlier than planned and some advice in how to do it well.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by samell on 3rd September 2008
  • My neighbor went through something similar recently, deciding to switch to more of a preschool situation from a home daycare when her son turned 3. I know they loved their family daycare but she felt, like you, that her son needed more activities and interactions with kids his age and perhaps a bit older. What she did was work out an arrangement where her son went to the new preschool 3 days a week and the old daycare 2 days a week for a bit, to get used to the transition. From what she has told me, that seemed to work really well.

I hope this is helpful -- and welcome to WIM!:)
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Nataly on 3rd September 2008