Group Discussions

Weight Loss Woes

Subscribe
  • Hello, everyone!

I'm new to both this site and this group, and I have a bit of a problem that I could use some help with. I'm a first-time mom and things started out great. I only gained about 30 lbs during my pregnancy and, after my daughter was born, I lost every last pound that I had gained. Unfortunately, I have since gained 20 lbs back.

I have a bit of a motivation problem when it comes to exercise. I can start exercising, no problem. It's keeping it up that I find difficult. I've tried various exercise DVDs (from dance-away-your-belly-fat types to buckle-down-and-work types), I've tried "games" (DDR, Wii Fit), and I've tried throwing together a workout on my own. Each time, there's always something that interferes with my workout schedule and then I end up stopping all together.

I think I would do well with a class, but there are a couple of problems there. 1) My husband and I only have 1 vehicle. 2) I don't know how to drive said vehicle yet (it's a manual transmission and I can only drive automatic), so I can't just drop him off at work and keep the vehicle for the day. 3) He gets home pretty late, so taking a class after he gets home is a bit unreasonable.

Working out with someone else would be a fun alternative, except that I don't know anyone where I live. My husband and I are still renting, so we've only been in the neighborhood for about a year and there's no one else that's my age (it's mainly just retired widowers here.) The only friend of mine within driving distance is still about a 30-minute drive away.

Having said all that, I did try to sign up for an aqua-aerobics class but it was all full. Apparently 7:30 is a popular work-out time where I live. I hope to make it into the class in the spring, but I need do something between now and then.