Group Discussions

Any moms who are grad students?

Subscribe
  • Would like to meet you!
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Cassy on 14th November 2008
  • Hi - I'm not a grad student, but I teach grad students. In fact, I'm up at 6:00 am (up since 5) on a Saturday grading my grad students. Also, clearly, I've been a grad student.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by on 15th November 2008
  • Yep. I am planning on finishing up this spring. Both my husband and I are working on our PhDs and had our little girl while in school.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Stacey S on 16th November 2008
  • Hey nice to hear from you all! I´m also a PhD student trying to balance the work/child "issue". We moved country recently which has not helped matters either. I think the thing about studying and kids is that when you study you need large chunks of time to actually "reflect" on what you´re doing (or are supposed to be doing!) and sometimes I find this difficult with the numerous interruptions. Anyone else feel like this?
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Cassy on 16th November 2008
  • I try to treat school like work, because for me it is. Both my husband and I are in grad school so we have our daughter in daycare. Then in the evenings since we are trying to finish we take turns 'disappearing' to study. We sometimes do this with hours on the weekends too. It works pretty well since I know after the night I am gone I have my daughter to myself.

I am not in classes so that helps. I am finishing up experiments, so I have put some of the hardcore reading on hold for a little bit.

I am definitely moving more slowly than before, but I decided that it was worth it to have some time with my daughter.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Stacey S on Tuesday