Group Discussions

Feeling Guilt

Subscribe
  • OK - My LO goes in daycare part-time in a few weeks. It seems everywhere I turn I see SAHMom's who have horror stories of anything other than having them, the moms, with their child. Yet, as a teacher, I know better. I have many, no, the majority, of students I have taught use some type of daycare or sitter and they are fine. They know who their parents are. So, why do they make it seem like "selling out?" I mean, I miss working out for pete's sake and adult conversation. Is it really necessary that all my conversations be about parenting now? I'd really love a dirty joke or curse word at an appropriate moment!
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by atara on Sunday
  • Ha ha, thanks for the laugh!

My daughter has been in daycare for 2 years now and she loves it. I can guarantee you that she is happier there than she would be with me at home all day! Yes, I work full time so it's not an option, but I am certain that if I were staying home I'd want her exposed to a social setting, making friends, learning to be independent, etc.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Nataly on 22nd December 2008
  • I was really glad to see your post. I just had twins in November and I expect to go back to work soon. However, I've been feeling really guilty lately about putting them into day care. I too have read several articles and several friends have left subtle (and not-so-subtle) hints that perhaps I should consider staying at home. To be honest, we can't afford it financially, but I too want to pursue my career. I spent years obtaining my educational background and I believe in balance. In any case, I thank you for your candor.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by tjbeckley on 24th December 2008